September – The Seven Sorrows of Mary

And now for something completely devotional 🙂 (Another post adapted from our school newsletter)

On September 15th we will celebrate the Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows (she is the patroness of the school where I work). Devotion to her sorrows has traditionally been promoted during this month.

The practice of meditating on the Seven Sorrows of Mary began in the 13th century. It was started by a group of men who came to be known as the Order of the Friar Servants of Mary (Servites), an officially recognized religious Order in the Catholic Church. There are almost 5,000 members in the order today, and they still promote devotion to the Seven Sorrows.

In this devotion, reflection is given on seven moments in the life of Mary. There is a chaplet (like a mini-rosary) that is prayed in conjunction with the meditations on the seven sorrows.

This month, spend some time remembering how much Mary gave of herself. In doing so, we will take up the Servite mandate of prayer, unity, service and devotion to Our Lady. The Chaplet below will give you a path of meditation that will draw us closer to Jesus by being drawn closer to Mary.

Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Mary

1. Begin the Chaplet with the Sign of the Cross.
2. State your intentions for the chaplet.
3. Since the chaplet is penitential in character, an Act of Contrition is prayed.
4. Announce the First Sorrow (see list below).
5. Pray one Our Father.
6. Pray seven Hail Mary’s while meditating on the Sorrow.
7. Repeat steps 4 – 6 until all seven Sorrows have been reflected upon.
8. Three Hail Mary’s are prayed in honor of the tears Mary shed.
9. One Our Father is prayed.
10. The closing prayer is recited (see below).

First Sorrow: The Presentation/The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:22-35)
Second Sorrow: The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-21)
Third Sorrow: The Child Jesus Lost in the Temple (Luke 2:41-50)
Fourth Sorrow: Mary Meets Jesus Carrying His Cross (Luke 23:26-32)
Fifth Sorrow: The Crucifixion/Mary at the Foot of the Cross (John 19:18, 25-30)
Sixth Sorrow: Mary Receives the Body of Jesus Taken Down from the Cross (Psalm 130; John 19:31-34, 38)
Seventh Sorrow: Jesus is Laid in the Tomb (Luke 23:50-56, John 19:38-42)

Closing Prayer
Leader: Pray for us, most sorrowful Virgin
Response: That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let Us Pray:
Lord Jesus, we now implore, both for the present and for the hour of our death, the intercession of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary, Your Mother, whose Holy Soul was pierced during Your Passion by a sword of grief. Grant us this favor, O Savior of the world, Who lives and reigns with the Father and the Holy Spirit forever and ever. Amen.

Blessings & Peace,