The Sword of Truth

A friend of mine lent me the eight books that comprise the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. In it, there are a dying strand of Wizard’s who discovered/created a set of rules that they live by. Thought I’d post ’em, and in a few days talk a bit more about them. Here they are:

  • Wizard’s First Rule: People are stupid. They will believe anything that they want to be true or fear to be true.
  • Wizard’s Second Rule: The greatest harm can result from the best intentions.
  • Wizard’s Third Rule: Passion rules reason.
  • Wizard’s Fourth Rule: There is magic in forgiveness – the magic to heal; in the forgiveness you grant, and more so in the magic you receive.
  • Wizard’s Fifth Rule: Mind what people do, not only what they say, for deeds will betray a lie.
  • Wizard’s Sixth Rule: The only sovereign you can allow to rule you is reason.
  • Wizard’s Seventh Rule: Life is the future, not the past.
  • Wizard’s Eighth Rule: Deserve victory.
  • Wizard’s Ninth Rule: A contradiction cannot exist in reality.

The series has a few sappy moments, and there is graphic violence in some sections (the series takes place amidst a world war), but I’ve enjoyed reading it tremendously. I’m on the 8th book right now (Naked Empire), and I eagerly look forward to the next book!

A fellow teacher asked me if I would recommend this series for her 8th grade son. As I thought about it, I figured I’d put a disclaimer on my recommendation of this book. It’s definitely more adult reading (PG-16 or so). There is one long scene of torture (not gratuitous – it’s part of the overall story arc) and several smaller scenes where the torture is not protracted or graphic but definitely implied. There are many instances of references to rape, and as I said, the violence can be pretty graphic. So while I still recommend the book (there are really good themes in there!), I would temper my recommendation by saying that it is written more for adults, not children.

Blessings & Peace,